Noob trying to verify Qubes OS with GPGTools

imassagenorfolk

21 Jul, 2017 10:49 AM

Hello everyone,

As you may gather from the subject - I am trying to verify the current stable release of Qubes OS using GPG Tools. I have never touched anything to do with this sort of thing ever but I have some experience in other areas of IT and I wish to learn about security and cryptography.

However I always, after about 5 attempts, end up with a failed verification and I don't know whether I am doing something wrong, or indeed I am doing something right and the download itself is actually dodgy. I was hoping someone here could help me through this, maybe point out what I am doing wrong or otherwise.
Let me explain what I have tried:

1. Downloaded GPGSuite current stable version. Made sure my OS (Mac OSX) is up to date too.

2. Verified downloaded GPGSuite by using the SHA256 checksum method as mentioned here: https://gpgtools.tenderapp.com/kb/how-to/how-to-verify-the-download... - all checks out!
    Did the encrypted email tutorial in the docs and now have my own key in GPG Keychain.

3. Got Qubes Master Key, compared signatures to other sources throughout the web as recommended by Qubes themselves. Seems to be legit. Now it is within GPG Keychain. Also made sure I have OpenPGP tools within the right-click menu. Made the 'Validity' of the Master Key ultimate.

4. Downloaded Qubes OS 3 Release Signing Key, I also put this into GPG Keychain. Nothing is mentioned anywhere in any docs or any 'googleing' about verifying this key too which I find strange, but I continue.

5. Downloaded Qubes OS iso file (the one I want to verify!). Put in folder with both keys mentioned above. Right clicked on 'OpenPGP: Verify Signature of file' option. End up with 'Verfication: FAILED' message :-/