(suggestion) Upload keys as default

Brendon's Avatar

Brendon

07 Dec, 2012 01:33 AM

Taking the advice of familiarizing myself with the software and doing a couple "trial runs" I generated some keys and deleted them to know the process before I made one I would use. Not knowing that keychain access defaults to uploading keys to the specified keyserver as soon as they are generated, I now have a couple keys with identical profiles to my real one floating around in cyberspace. I suggest that on future versions of the software, this feature is not enabled by default.

  1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Steve on 07 Dec, 2012 06:30 PM

    Steve's Avatar

    Hi Brendon, I can understand your frustration. GPG Keychain Access should ask you, what it should do with newly created keys during the creation process. See the screenshot "Upload key after generation".

    If that box is ticked, GPG Keychain Access will upload the key once the creation process is finished.

    Best, steve

  2. Steve closed this discussion on 20 Jan, 2013 07:56 PM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac